San Diego State University College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
  • Students at Turtle Pond

New Student Orientation 2023

The College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts

The SDSU College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts welcomes our new transfer class of 2024 and our freshmen class of 2026!

Your major (or ROTC minor) is housed in one of our Schools or ROTC Departments and your School is where to find your major advisor.

On your scheduled orientation day, you’ll meet with our Assistant Dean for Student Affairs (handouts and contact info below). To meet with your major advisor, see the schedule below for recorded and live sessions, as well as handouts and contact emails. We suggest you attend or watch a recorded session with your major advisor before your day of orientation or very soon afterwards. You’ll need the advising information before registering for classes.

Don't forget to check out our PSFA Stories page and learn more about all of the exciting things that are happening in PSFA.

Find Your School

Click on any of the links below to jump down to information and Zoom links from that school/department.

How to Join a Zoom Meeting

Joining a meeting via Zoom is very easy.

  • At the assigned meeting time, use one of the links provided below to be taken to Zoom;
  • You will be directed to download the Zoom App if needed;
  • If prompted, enter the meeting password as noted adjacent to the Zoom link;
  • If you are put in a virtual waiting room, wait there until you can be seen privately in a virtual meeting room.

Aerospace Studies (Air Force ROTC)

Minor in Air Force Leadership Studies

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

HANDOUTS AND DOWNLOADABLE RESOURCES

AFROTC Flyer

L. Robert Payne School of Hospitality and Tourism Management

Hotel Management, Meetings and Events, Restaurant Management, Tribal Gaming, Outdoor Resource Management, Recreation Systems Management, Sustainable Tourism Management

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

1:1 Student Appts: Book on EAB (with Christina Jeffries for HTM and with Corinne Youngholm for RTM)

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

1:1 Student Appts: Book on EAB (with Christina Jeffries for HTM and with Corinne Youngholm for RTM)

CONTACTS

(HTM) Christina Jeffries: cjeffries@sdsu.edu
Corrine Youngholm: cyoungholm@sdsu.edu

Military Science (Army ROTC)

Minor in Military Science

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

HANDOUTS AND DOWNLOADABLE RESOURCES

ROTC Flyer
Orientation Brief

CONTACTS

John Phillips: jephillips@sdsu.edu

School of Art + Design

Applied Design, Art History, Graphic Design, Interior Architecture, Multimedia, Painting and Printmaking, Sculpture, Single-Subject Teaching Credential, Studio Arts

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 Recorded Presentation: Available Now

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 Recorded Presentation: Available Now

CONTACTS

Mark Siprut: art.advising@sdsu.edu
Theresa Luu: art.advising@sdsu.edu

School of Communication

Communication, Health Communication

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 Recorded Presentation: Available Now

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 Recorded Presentation: Available Now

CONTACTS

Kathleen Czech: kczech@sdsu.edu

School of Journalism and Media Studies

Advertising, Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

Recorded Orientation 2022: Available Now
Orientation Zoom Room
Book a Meeting

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

Recorded Orientation 2022: Available Now
Orientation Zoom Room
Book a Meeting

CONTACTS

Alexa Mokalis: amokalis@sdsu.edu
Adrian Zachary Diaz: adiaz7@sdsu.edu

School of Music and Dance

Dance, Global composition, Jazz Studies, Music Education, Music, Performance, Professional Studies (entrepreneurship, recording technology & audio design)

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 (Music) Recorded Session: Available Now

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 (Music) Recorded Session: Available Now
 
 
 

HANDOUTS AND DOWNLOADABLE RESOURCES

Freshman Music Course Plan
Transfer Music Course Plan

CONTACTS

(Music) Shannon Kitelinger: skitelinger@sdsu.edu
(Dance) Joseph Alter: jalter@sdsu.edu
Travis Maril: tmaril@sdsu.edu

School of Theatre, Television, and Film

Theatre: Design Technology, Design for Television & Film, Theatre Arts, Performance, Youth Theatre
Television, Film & New Media Production: Production or Critical Studies

FIRST-YEAR STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

2021 Recorded Session (TFM): Available Now

TRANSFER STUDENT ZOOM SESSION LINKS
(And Available Pre-Recorded Videos)

CONTACTS

(Theatre) Katie Turner: laura.turner@sdsu.edu
(TFM) Stuart Voytilla: svoytilla@sdsu.edu
Giancarlo Taylor: gtaylor@sdsu.edu