Professional Studies and Fine Arts

Professional Studies and Fine Arts

Centers and Institutes

Center for Visual and Performing Arts

Enhancing, coordinating, and publicizing the visual and performing arts programs of PSFA, forming alliances and partnerships with San Diego arts agencies, and initiating new programs to expand the impact of the arts on the campus and in the community.
Director: Donna Conaty
dconaty@mail.sdsu.edu


The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation Student Center for Professional Development

Providing undergraduate hospitality students and alumni access to a wide range of professional development services.
Director: Brian P. Blake
bblake@projects.sdsu.edu

Please visit The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation Student Center for Professional Development for more information.

Center for Hospitality and Tourism Research

Enhancing the skills and knowledge of professionals and students in the field of hospitality and tourism management through the creation and delivery of initiatives in executive development, research, and curriculum innovation.
Director: Carl Winston
carl.winston@sdsu.edu


Center for Surf Research

The Center for Surf Research is the first of its kind in the world; it responds to the challenges of a rapidly expanding surfing industry and the broadening horizons of surf tourism and its impact on peoples, environments, and economies along the coastlines of more than 100 countries.
Director: Jess Ponting
jponting@mail.sdsu.edu

Please visit Center for Surf Research for more information.

Sycuan Institute on Government Gaming

Focusing on research, policy studies, and education related to the area of tribal gaming management.
Director: Kate Spilde
kspilde@mail.sdsu.edu

Please visit Sycuan Institute on Government Gaming for more information.

Institute of Public and Urban Affairs

Conducting research in community and governmental affairs, sponsoring conferences, colloquia and symposia related to issues in public administration and affairs including urban planning, management and criminal justice administration.
Director: Mounah Abdel-Samad
msamad@mail.sdsu.edu

Please visit Institute of Public and Urban Affairs for more information.

Institute of Meetings and Events

Developing mentoring and professional relationships between industry professionals and SDSU students
Director: Stephanie Dathe
sdathe@mail.sdsu.edu


Production Center for Documentary and Drama

Mentoring graduate students in the creation of projects that promote artistic and technical growth, and working with global film schools, film institutes, and filmmakers in the production of the long-running, international TV series, “The Short List.”
Director: Tim Powell
tpowell@mail.sdsu.edu

Please visit Production Center for Documentary and Drama for more information.

Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film

The nation’s first program dedicated solely to the study and discussion of women’s representation on screen and behind the scenes in television and film.
Director: Martha Lauzen
lauzen@mail.sdsu.edu

Please visit Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film for more information.

The Investigative Newsource

Producing investigative, data-driven journalism and developing the next generation of investigative reporters.
Director: Lorie Hearn


Please visit The Investigative Newsource for more information.

Institute for Leisure and Tourism Management

Primarily concerned with conducting leisure-related research, promoting professional development, disseminating specialized publications, and organizing conferences, seminars, lectures and workshops.
Director: Larry Beck
lbeck@mail.sdsu.edu